November 2018 Structured Conversation
Title: Institutions' Use of Data and Analytics for Student Success: Results from a National Landscape

Date/Time: Tuesday, November, 20 2018 12-1pm EDT (11am CDT, 10am MDT, 9am PDT, 8am AKDT)

Panelists:
Dr. Amelia Parnell, Vice President for Research and Policy at NASPA - Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
Dr. Darlena Jones, Director of Assessment and Research at the Association of Institutional Research

Abstract:
NASPA-Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education, the Association for Institutional Research (AIR), and EDUCAUSE have conducted a national landscape analysis to examine how institutional research (IR), student affairs, and information technology (IT) professionals are working together to support students. The three higher education associations jointly developed and launched a national survey of their memberships to identify trends in the types of student success data projects that institutions conduct, the structures in place for sharing data among multiple users, the level of coordination across functions, and how institutions are using data to inform interventions and program delivery.

In this structured conversation, our panelists will reflect on responses from nearly 1,000 IR, student affairs, and IT professionals across public, private, two- and four-year institutions across the United States and discuss recommendations for improving and executing an institution-wide, data-informed strategy for student success.

The report is available at the following link: https://www.naspa.org/rpi/reports/data-and-analytics-for-student-success.