October 2018 Structured Conversation
Title: "Opening" the Loop: Strategies in Summative and Formative Feedback through a Consultation Model

Date/Time: Tuesday, October 16, 2018 12-1pm EDT (11am CDT, 10am MDT, 9am PDT, 8am AKDT)

Panelists:
Zaneta Wood, Assessment Coordinator - Greenville Technical College
Gina Terry, Director of Counseling Services - Greenville Technical College
Dr. Sara Hillis Ousby, Director of Assessment - University of North Texas

Abstract:
In this session, we will examine strategies that will effectively change the perception and practices of assessment on your campus, one person at a time. Strategies discussed will include training and consultation techniques to move from "we have to do this" towards a value-based approach and facilitating summative and formative feedback to identify training and resource needs and continue the momentum throughout the plan year.


As a result of participating in this session, participants will be able to:
  1. Discover and practice strategies for guiding individuals and teams through customized assessment consultation.
  2. Develop a feedback rubric customized for their institution.
  3. Engage assessment planners through motivating summative and formative feedback.
  4. Identify ways to quantify feedback to determine training and resources needed across the institution.